QCIDirect a.k.a. Home Trends

Dear Friends -

I have always wanted to be able to use “a.k.a.”. It is one of those catchy little acronyms that grown-ups use to make them seem more, well, grown-up.

There are probably 2 million households in the USA that know us as Home Trends. With that said, why would I be so stupid to change the company name? The simplest way I can put it is that it’s like sliced bread. But we’ll come back to that!

Sometimes the world lets you know it is moving forward and you can go with it or be left behind. As a company, we needed to move forward in and onto the Web and QCIDirect is our newest Web venture. We have been working on it for so long that I honestly cannot remember the first time we decided to change our name. And where did we get the name from? It’s a long story, but I will try to keep it short…well shorter anyways.

Way back in 1983 I started my company as Qwik-Cook, Inc. I thought that was a catchy way of spelling “quick” and a neat way of describing microwave cooking. And that’s where I started – selling microwave cooking out of a 16 page, black and white brochure, called Microwave Magic. So it never did get too far and I changed my brochure to Microwave and More. Then I changed it to Home Trends. By the year 2000 I was all sorts of names: Home Trends, Picket Fence, Sleep Solutions, and all under Qwik-Cook Inc.

Hmmm. Let’s see. If you take the Q from Qwik, the C from Cook, and the I from Inc – QCI. Direct is because there is nothing as direct and easy as web ordering. So there you have it. QCIDirect.

Or if it is easier for you, just remember “aka Home Trends”. I like the sound of that, too.

Oh! Back to the sliced bread. When grocery stores started slicing the bread for customers, it was a revolution for shoppers. It was easy and fast and didn’t cost any more – just like the web!

Speaking of easy slicing, check out our Easy Slice Brownie Pan. Brownies come out of the oven sliced and ready to eat! The Pan is non-stick and includes dividing grid, cooling rack and recipes!

Easy Slice Brownie Pan

Easy Slice Brownie Pan

Feel free to leave comments or subscribe to our RSS feed.

Click HERE to go back to our website: http://www.qcidirect.com

-Jane

About QCIDirect

QCI Direct is a multi-title catalog company that has exploded in growth. The business began in 1983 as a small, woman-owned microwave accessory catalog. This division then evolved into our flagship catalog "Home Trends," a catalog that carries cleaning and organizational items for inside the home. Picket Fence, the outdoor book, soon followed.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to QCIDirect a.k.a. Home Trends

  1. Marie Tokan says:

    I saw a frog hide a key in plain sight for $5.00 in your catalog from Feb.2010 to April 2010 I would like to order 2 of them but I can not find them in the catalog any more. Could we please order them if they are still available? Thank You.

  2. PJ Crow says:

    WHAT HAVE YOU DONE TO YOUR WEBSITE……all the things I saved in bookmarks NO LONGER OPEN

    • QCIDirect says:

      PJ-

      We recently rolled out a new site design. We’re sorry if your lost your bookmarks, but all of the items should still be there!
      Let us know if there is any other way we could help!

Leave a Reply

